Kenyans are fond of claiming that the earth is full, well people have been heard. Now there is a bunch of scientists working on building a space station in Mars. Such that the conditions are suitable for human living. Next up-tujaze Mars!!

In a live webcast, NASA has announced that it’s on its way to taking humans further than they’ve ever been before, with the planned December 4 test flight of their Orion space capsule – the spacecraft that they say will soon take humans to the Red Planet.

nasa-marsOrion program manager Mark Geyer explained that they are first sending a probe to determine the kind of environment there. This probe once done with its research will drob back to earth, with this info, they will determine the kind of equipment they need for us to occupy Mars.

If all goes well, the four-person capsule will be set to carry a crew to an asteroid and then to Mars, and NASA predicts they’ll land on the Red Planet by mid-2030.

“It will also be the first time since the Apollo missions that a human has gone further than Lower Earth Orbit,” says Barrell at The Huffington Post.

Miriam Kramer at Space.com lays out the schedule:

All in all, the Orion test flight should take about 4.5 hours. The test’s 2-hour-and-39-minute launch window opens at 7:05 a.m. EST (1205 GMT) on Dec. 4. Splashdown should happen at about 11:29 a.m. EST (1629 GMT) if all goes according to plan.

You can watch the live webcast of the Orion test launch at NASA’s TV site.

SOURCE: Science Alert.com